CCAC announces 2019 NISOD Excellence Award recipients

Joe Delphia
Nick Duerlinger
George Jaber
Walter Pauli
Janette Petro
David Sluss
Karl K. Watson Jr
Michael Zdilla
Article by: CCAC Public Relations

PITTSBURGH-The Community College of Allegheny County is proud to announce its recipients of the annual National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD) Excellence Awards. CCAC's 2019 honorees include two professors from each campus-Allegheny Campus: Joe Delphia, David Sluss; Boyce Campus: Walter Pauli, Janette Petro; North Campus: Nick Duerlinger, Karl Watson; South Campus: George Jaber, Dr. Michael Zdilla.

NISOD's Excellence Awards recognize exceptional faculty members each year who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment and contribution to their students and colleagues. Excellence Award recipients will be celebrated during NISOD's annual International Conference on Teaching and Leadership Excellence, May 25-28, in Austin, Texas. During the Excellence Awards Dinner and Celebration, held in conjunction with NISOD's annual conference, each Excellence Award recipient receives a specially cast pewter medallion hung on a burnt-orange ribbon.

"These dedicated faculty members are a testament to the important work that is being done throughout CCAC each and every day. We are pleased to celebrate through this prestigious award the excellence they demonstrate in and out of the classroom," said Dr. Stuart Blacklaw, CCAC provost and executive vice president. 

"Recognizing those individuals who have contributed to student success and their colleges' mission is something we look forward to doing each year," said Dr. Edward J. Leach, NISOD's executive director. "The extraordinary work of these men and women includes not only what they do for their students and colleagues, but what they do for the communities in which they live and work. We're honored to be able to play a part in celebrating their achievements."

For more information about NISOD, visit

Related Stories