CCAC scholars recognized for achievements, represent college at Lobby Day in Harrisburg

Lobby Day 2015 1 small
Lobby Day 2015 2 small
Lobby Day 2015 3 small
Lobby Day 2015 4 small
Lobby Day 2015 5 small
Article by: CCAC Public Relations
PITTSBURGH—Eight exceptional Community College of Allegheny County students were honored as members of the 21st Annual All-Pennsylvania Academic Team at an awards banquet on Monday, April 13 in Harrisburg. The awards, presented by the Pennsylvania Commission for Community Colleges, recognize community college students who have achieved excellence and demonstrated a commitment to their colleges and communities.

Among the 44 community college scholars from across the Commonwealth are CCAC students: Hashim Ahmed, Jennifer Alspaugh, Emily Burks, Lianna Coholich, Cassie Gartin, Megan McMonagle, Eric Reiche and Melissa Suehr. Alspaugh and Gartin also were honored as Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Gold Scholars—they are among five Gold Scholars in the state who will receive $1,500 scholarships.

Pennsylvania’s community colleges partner with the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education (PASSHE) universities to provide scholarships to All-PA Team members at PASSHE institutions. Each CCAC scholar plans to further his or her education at a four-year institution, and several intend to pursue post-graduate education in a wide range of fields.

In addition to pursuing excellence in their academic careers, all of the students are active on their college campuses and in giving back to their communities through a variety of service endeavors, including Habitat for Humanity, Race for the Cure, Day of Caring, Wounded Warrior Project and Toys for Tots.

Members of the All-PA Team, CCAC President Dr. Quintin B. Bullock and college staff also joined forces with members of the state’s other 13 community colleges at the State Capitol in Harrisburg on Tuesday, April 14 to rally support for funding of the state’s community college budget. “Lobby Day” leverages the collective strength of the state’s 14 community colleges, providing an opportunity for the colleges to speak as one voice. In addition, Lobby Day presents an opportunity for community college students to meet their legislators.

This year, the CCAC All-PA Team met with Senators Camera Bartolotta, Jim Brewster, Jay Costa Jr., JD (CCAC Class of 1977), Wayne Fontana (CCAC Class of 1971), Matt Smith, Randy Vulakovich and Kim Ward; and with Representatives Mike Carroll, Paul Costa (CCAC Class of 1988), Dan Frankel, Dan Miller, Brandon Neuman and Harry Readshaw. They were individually introduced in the House Chamber by Speaker of the House Mike Turzai and in the Senate Chamber by Senator Jay Costa.

Related Stories