skip to main content

Women on a Mission (WOM)

The Women on a Mission (WOM) retention program is designed to positively impact the college experience of female students of color by exposing them to:

  • Campus resources and information-sharing
  • Speakers
  • CCAC staff, faculty, and administrator mentors
  • Professional and personal development opportunities

This eight-week program was developed by Dr. Barbara Evans and Antonio Quarterman, and WOM now culminates each semester with a joint event with the Men of Merit Initiative (MMI).

Success Stories

After WOM's first semester, 78 percent of participants were retained. Five of those students graduated with either a CCAC degree or certificate, and several students were accepted to four-year schools, including the University of Pittsburgh, Duquesne University, Chatham University, and Florida State University. Other highpoints experienced by some WOM participants include induction into the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society, the Psi Beta Psychology National Honor Society and attending a regional conference of the National Council on Black American Affairs in New Jersey.

One of the Homewood-Brushton Center students described the program as a place where you can come in burdened and leave feeling different. Another said, "You can be yourself and nobody judges you. This is my happy place."

WOM at the Campuses and Centers

WOM is in its third semester at South Campus and second semester at Boyce Campus, North Campus, and the Homewood-Brushton Center. Allegheny Campus will begin its full eight week session in Fall 2017. Each CCAC campus location will have a campus lead who will serve as the primary organizer for Women on a Mission at her respective location. For more information or to join Women on a Mission, contact a campus lead or Dr. Barbara Evans at 412.469.6227.

Allegheny Campus

Homewood-Brushton Center

Boyce Campus

North Campus

South Campus

Ginger Underwood
gunderwood@ccac.edu

Dr. Renee Knox
Instructor
rknox@ccac.edu

Juel Smith 
jsmith@ccac.edu 

Michele Tedder 
mtedder@ccac.edu

Stasia Lopez 
alopez@ccac.edu

Shelli Sims 
ssims@ccac.edu

Dr. Barbara Evans
bevans@ccac.edu

Brenna Jones

Bjones2@ccac.edu

Contact lead for meeting times.

Contact lead for meeting times.

Contact lead for meeting times.

Contact lead for meeting times.

Contact lead for meeting times.